Contemporary · Reviews

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Hello Everyone !2015-11-22 18.16.22

Today I am going to talk to you about Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. For those of you who haven’t read this book yet, don’t worry this is a spoiler free review.

Let’s get started then : It is a new adult contemporary novel. We basically follow this 18 years old girl, Cath, who is starting college with her twin sister Wren. The two of them have very different feelings about college. Wren couldn’t be more excited and Cath is very apprehensive, she even considers not going at all. Also, Wren wants to live her own thing so decides not to be Cath’s roommate. Cath is left trying to figure out how it works on her own.  Next to this, Cath is a very popular fan fiction writer and throughout the book she is writing her own version of the end of a very famous and popular series.

I liked this book a lot, gave it 4.5/5 stars. I think what I liked the most was that we got to see the two sides of college through the two twins. I didn’t often come across someone who was not looking forward to it as Cath isn’t. And I think it is important to acknowledge that for some people it isn’t this big exciting adventure that most teenagers picture.

I loved all of the characters, well, except a few. I especially enjoyed that the two twins were so different. Wren is really outgoing, she goes to parties, she dates, she meets new people easily whereas Cath is more shy, maybe she doesn’t have as many friends, but the ones she has are very dear to her. She is always worried about the people she cares for. I think the author did an amazing job with the characters in this book, they felt so real. And they are all very different. Like Reagan who is so different from Cath and also Levi. College brought all of those different people together.

tumblr_mtsr52YxG81r1mhrho2_r5_500

I was really able to relate to Cath, it has been a long time since I could relate to a character that much. Thanks to the amazing writing, I could really feel and understand everything she felt. That really got me into this book.

And of course there is this other aspect of Cath’s life as a fan fiction writer. I loved how she changed the original story to make it her own and how she kind of thinks through the characters she is writing about.

So that’s it for today’s review, if you have read it tell me how you liked it in the comments and if not well you should get to it because it is an amazing book by an amazing author! 😀

bye bye

PS: As always sorry for the language mistakes I’ve made

 

 

5 thoughts on “Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

