Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Books You Are Thankful For

 

Hello Everyone!

Welcome to my first Top 5 Wednesday! This week it is about the book I am thankful for. The books are in no particular order.

  • The first I want to present you is actually a series but I couldn’t just pick one of them : It is the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. I grew up with this series and its characters and it was always so comforting to know that this world was there, ready to welcome me when the real world wasn’t being enjoyable.2015-11-24 17.33.39
  • Then I want to talk about a book I adored but I don’t hear much about it in the book blogging community : Calling me home (Les couleurs de l’espoir in french, I sadly didn’t read it in its original language) by Julie Kibler. It is the story of a white old woman who asks her black hair dresser to drive her to a funeral. On the way, the old woman tells her story. It is a very moving story about love and cruelty and segregation. I think it is very important to keep reading and writing about the segregation because it is one of the most horrible thing there is and we have to fight against it.

 

  • The next book is also about the discrimination of a minority. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana De Rosnay tells the story of a little jewish girl living in Paris during the second world war, whose family was arrested during the Vél d’Hiv Roundup (july 16th 1942) and the one of a 50-ish years old Woman, also living in Paris but nowadays, investigating this Roundup. This is a heartbreaking story, but I am thankful for it because it was through this book that I discovered the story of the Vél d’Hiv Roundup, which was a part of History I had never heard of before. And I feel I owe it to the victims to remember them.
    (I highly recommend the movie too)

 

  • The next one is actually one of my favorite books : The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey is about a childless couple of 50 year old people moving to Alaska in the beginning of the 20th century. They are both saddened by their childlessness. One day, they sculpt a little girl in the snow and she somehow comes to life. new-imageThis is a magical story about love, hard work. The description of the landscape and of the winter is breathtaking. Honestly I could almost feel the cold of winter while reading this book.
  • And last book I am going to present to you is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. It’s the story of a girl, who is a fan fiction writer, starting college. She goes at the same college as her twin sister but they have very different personalities and they don’t really expect the same things from this experience. I could really identify with the main character for when I started college I had was kind of like her, lost and hesitant. I am always grateful to see a main character I have things in common with ! I made a review on Fangirl, feel free to check it out here.

So that’s about it, tell me what books you guys are thankful for and why or if you have read any of the books I have talked about. Or if you want me to do a review on any of them (or any other) I would gladly do it!

bye bye

One thought on “Top 5 Books You Are Thankful For

Leave a Reply

