Fantasy

The Queen Of The Tearling – Erika Johansen

Hello there !

I did it ! I finally read The Queen Of The Tearling by Erika Johansen. So many people have been telling me to read this book and I have heard about it on so many blogs or booktube channels that I just had to read it. And now I come to tell you my thoughts on it.

The Queen of the TearlingLet’s waste no more time and jump right into it. So The Queen Of The Tearling is the first book of what is going to be a Fantasy trilogy. It tells the story of a princess, Kelsea, who has been raised in a hidden place by foster parents. When she turns 19, she has to travel all te way through the Tearling, which is her kingdom, to the main city, where she will take on her throne and become Queen. There are a lot of people who would much prefer to see Kelsea dead. The book is really about her figuring out how to be queen and how to earn the respect and loyalty of her guards, her people and everybody surrounding her and also how to rid her kingdom of the corruption, the ignorance and the fear introduced by the Red Queen, a sorceress reigning on the neighboring country.

I gave this book 5/5 stars so obviously I loved it. I actually listened to the audiobook, which I thought was really great. If you like audiobooks, I highly recommend this one.

tumblr_nc4oglccbu1rozrego4_1280It has been a while since I read such a marvelous first book in a fantasy series. I thought the context was great, the History of the land was well told, it was very convincing. It was extremely visual, I had no issue imagining the landscape or the city at all.

The characterization was amazing too ! Every character was realistic, they all had faults and qualities. Every one of them had their own complex personality. What really blew me away was the description of the voices, I loved it. They all had unique voices which made them so much more real.

I was happily surprised to see that I was not annoyed by Kelsea. At some point of a book, I often find myself annoyed with the main character, but in this case not at all!

Also what was great for me is that right now I am 19, so exactly as old as Kelsea and I could really identify with her way of perceiving the things and the people around her. So if you are around 19 this is the best time for you to read this book.

I think you got it, I loved everything about this book and if you haven’t read it yet, just do and come back to tell me how you liked it ! And if you are still not convinced to read it, you might want to know that there is going to be a movie with Emma Watson as Kelsea!

Bye bye

3 thoughts on “The Queen Of The Tearling – Erika Johansen

Leave a Reply

