Non classé

Top 15 books of 2015

Hello Everybody!!

First of all I am so sorry for not posting a single post for about a month ! But now my exams are finally over and I can concentrate on important things like books and blogging!

So today’s post is going to be all about my favorite books of the year 2015. I read a lot of nice books in 2015, some of which have an important message or are rather serious while other were just very enjoyable without having to be too serious about them. I will try to put them in my order of preference but it might be quite difficult, I am sure you understand.

This probably going to be a long post so get comfortable!

13: Le Fantôme de l’Opéra (the Phantom of the Opera) by Gaston Leroux250px-gaston_leroux_-_le_fantc3b4me_de_lopc3a9ra

I am sure you have heard about the musical that was created based on this french book from the 1910s. I already knew the story but this summer I went to see the show on broadway and I absolutely loved it. That’s why I decided to read the book. I really enjoyed the story because there is romance, mystery and it is all about the Opera, which makes an amazing setting for a story. So for those of you who are not familiar with the story, we follow a young singer, Christine, who sings at the opera Garnier in Paris. The said opera is haunted by someone who calls himself the phantom of the opera.
I actually listened to the french audiobook which I thought wasn’t very good, the voices did not really correspond to the image of the characters I had in my mind.

41ujpzpxo1l-_sy344_bo1204203200_12: Snow Maiden And The Soldier by Tracy Linn Hendry

This book follows a young woman, Anna, whose parent’s are Russian but they fled Russia in the 1920s and now live in America. It is the second World War and Anna who had a medical training decides to go back to Russia as a nurse. It is a historical fiction that was very interesting in the sense that it described some of the important battles that took place in Russia during WW2. I had a great time reading this and I could not put it down but I thought that it was all too easy and it didn’t sound as realistic as it
could have been. It kind of left the feeling of a fairy tale.

11: The Return of The King by J.R.R. Tolkien4

I had a little of trouble ranking this one since it contains some of my favorites passages in books and also some of them I hated the most ! Obviously this book is the third and final book in the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I had already seen the movies but I felt I had to read the books and now I have ! I loved every part where we followed Aragorn, the landscape description was amazing, the action was thrilling and I love the dynamic between the main trio. However getting through the Frodo-Sam-Gollum-parts was really difficult. If you have read the book you probably know what I mean.

106017-fc5010: An Eagle in the Snow by Michael Morpugo

This is another historical fiction that actually really surprised me, I thought I would like it but I did not expect to like it this much : we follow a little boy and his mother from London during the second World War. After the bombings destroyed their house, they take the train to leave London and the bombings. The train gets attacked by german planes so they stay hidden in a tunnel until the planes leave. As the boy is afraid of the dark, the man sitting with them begins to tell him a story about a man in the World War 1 who thought he was doing the right thing but it turned out to be the worst mistake of his life. This is a children’s book but the writing was really enjoyable, it was simple but efficient.

51yz4k8fhcl-_sx309_bo1204203200_

9: The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald

This book is a contemporary fiction. I don’t want to say too much about it because I think that what makes this book as amazing as it is, is to go into it blindly. But what I can tell you is that it is a book about a booklover who uses books to get through to people. It is a great story about friendship that had smile all the way through. It is one of those books that remind you that there doesn’t need to be magic or super heroism in a story for it to be amazing !

8: The Tea Rose Trilogy by Jennifer Donnelly

In each book of this trilogy, we follow a different strong female protagonist but we still see a lot of the previous one, at least in the second book we got to see quite a lot of the protagonist of the first book. I still haven’t read the third one yet. In the first book we follow a young woman named Fiona who lives in the East of London in 1888. It is about her going through all the difficulties of that life in that time and that place. This book has many faults, for instance it is very melodramatic and there are some very suspicious coincidences in it. I hardly believe it could have happened like this in real life. But somehow I was not able to put that book down and the second one was even more addictive!imagesca5w5ww5

156557: The kindness of strangers by Katrina Kittle

This book is a much more serious one and if you are younger than 15 and even then if you are too sensitive I would recommend to wait a few years before reading that book. It is the story of a widowed mother of two children welcoming another troubled boy into her home after a horrifying revelation involving the boy’s family. The strength of this book was the characters: each of them being so different they all had to deal with their own issues as well as with what they just learnt in different ways and I think the author made an amazing job writing about such a delicate topic.

6: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I won’t be too long on this one since I already did a full review on this book that you can check out here but basically this is the story of a girl, Cath, who starts college with her twin sister but her sister wants to get her own experience. So Cath is left to figure college out on her own. She is also this very successful fan fiction writer.
This was a really nice and quick read that I would really recommend to anyone, especially those starting college as well because they will be able to really relate to Cath.fangirl

5: A snow garden by Rachel Joyce24909831

This is an anthology of christmas short stories. The idea behind this book is that although you are the main protagonist in your own story, you will be completely unimportant or even left out of other people’s story. So each of the protagonist in this book is an unimportant character of one of the author’s other work or character she had to leave out of the story. I didn’t love all of the stories but I did not dislike any of them and I loved the majority of them. It is a great winter read!

northangerabbey4. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen

I hadn’t read a Jane Austen book in a very long time. Maybe it is just that I missed her writing so much, but this book is now sharing the first position on my “top favorite Austen book list” with Pride and Prejudice. We follow the 18 year-old naive and romantic Catherine Morland who makes her debut in the society and she meets all sorts of people. This book is a criticism of Jane Austen’s contemporaries but you can really apply the critics to the people from our time. I loved Mr Tilney’s sarcasm, actually I think I loved everything about mr Tilney. I found I could really relate to Catherine, the way she wants to live in her books and have the same adventures reminded of myself.

3: Calling me home by Julie Kibler15793184

You may already know how much I love this book. It is such a beautiful and tragic story that really moved me since it deals with racism. I think racism is the most horrifying thing of all the atrocities that the human mind is able to conceive. It tells the story of an old white woman, Isabelle, who asks her black hairdresser, Dorrie, to drive her through the country to a funeral. During the trip, the white woman shared her story which is a very moving one. Every two chapter we have flashbacks of the woman’s past. What I thought was absolutely amazing into this book is that in the flashbacks you can feel Isabelle getting older. At the end of the flashbacks part, when she looks back at what she experienced she can really see that she has more of an adult perspective on it.


2: The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

This is a fantasy novel about 19 year old Kelsea who is the princess of the Tearling. For her entire life she lived in a hidden cabin with her foster parents but on her 19th birthday she has to travel through her country to become the Queen. I made a full review if you want to check it out.00009218-600x391

the-snow-child1: The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

I don’t think this one will come as a surprise as I have been talking about it in almost every single one of my posts! This is the story of a middle aged childless couple moving to Alaska in the 1920s. They have to work very hard to survive and their life is not easy. One night they build a snowman in the shape of a little girl and somehow this little girl comes to life. This is a wonderful story about love and friendship. It draws your attention back to the simple but beautiful thing surrounding us. And the description of the winter is absolutely amazing.

 

I hardly think that anyone had the patience to read it all so thank you so much if you did ! Tell me if you have read any of those books and how you liked them. And also tell me what your favorite books of the year were.

See you soon

Bye bye!

 

Leave a Reply

