fiction

Room by Emma Donoghue

Hello everyoneroom_cover

It is way past time for me to post another review. And it feels right that my first review of 2016 should be about my first read of the year.

So I just finished Room by Emma Donoghue. It is the story of five year-old Jack living with his mother locked in a single room. His mother, who was kidnapped a couple years before his was born tries to build a good life for her son so that he is as happy as he can possibly be given the circumstences. However she wants more for him and for herself than this life and keeps an escape plan at the back of her mind for when Jack will be old enough to understand and brave enough to try to escape.

I gave this book 4-4.5/5 stars. I had heard about it before but I didn’t know it would be from Jack’s perspective, which I think really added to the story. It is easy to forget that the Room is all Jack knows and had the story been from his mother’s perspective, some of the fights would not have been as compelling. Seeing them through Jack’s point of view, makes his ideas more legitimate and as we haven’t been raised in this room and as (nearly) adults we are well able to understand the mother’s point of view which gives the story such a unique feeling.

The perspective is also the reason I can’t give this book 5 stars. It is a little hard to get into a five year-olds perspective and it sometimes gets tiring.

room_still-639x360

Plus it has been turned into a movie ! I just mention it in case I didn’t give you enough reasons to pick it up.

That’s about it, I hope you liked it. If you have read this book tell me how you liked it and if you haven’t read it, well pick it up !

bye bye

One thought on “Room by Emma Donoghue

Leave a Reply

