Top 5 Wednesday

T5W: Best Suggested Books You Loved

Hi Everyone

It has been a long time since I last did the Top 5 Wednesday but unfortunately the topics did not really inspire me. You can find the Goodreads page the T5W here. So today it is all about the books that were recommended to me and that I loved. I was surprised to see that not many of the books I read were suggested to me but I still found 5 books/series I loved when I read them.

5 : The House of Night series – P.C and Kristin Cast

house-of-night-header
If I read these books now I am sure I would not be far from disliking them since I am really not as big a vampire fan as I used to be, but this series was recommended to me when I was 13 by two of my best friends and I loved it at the time. However I did not finish the series, by the time I had read the 7th book the story was beginning to be too long and my vampire period had come the an end, so I have no idea how long the series is now or how it ended. I do not have many memories of it but I do remember enjoying the concept of inverting day and night.


 

51tmfgrj45l4 : Sarah’s Key – Tatiana de Rosnay
I am going to cheat a little bit on this one: the friend who recommended this story to me actually recommended the movie, she had never read the book, but it is still thanks to her that I discovered this book. Actually when I finished the book I recommended it to her and she loved it too! It is a heartbreaking story about a woman trying to figure out what happened to a little jewish girl and her family after they were taken by the french police during the Vel’ d’Hiv Roundup in the second World War.


 

3 : Uglies – Scott Westerfeld
This dystopian series was recommended to me by a friend in High School. I obviously really enjoyed it. It is really interesting to compare this book to the Hunger Games because although they are both dystopian and both have female lead character they are very different. The Uglies series is far less political than the Hunger Games but it works around the concept of beauty. Basically in this world when you turn 16 you get an operation to make you “pretty” and once you have this operation you spend a few years just partying. The entire thinking around the concept of beauty in this book is amazing to follow. How the beauty standards keep changing or how you can consider yourself pretty or not depending on your upbringing and so on.newugliesukcovers


 

2 : The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

When I was about 14, a friend of mine made a presentation on this book at school and that is how I discovered this trilogy. It was one of the first dystopian book I read and it is very interesting because even though it is YA there is a lot of politics involved, not so much in quiz_hunger-games-tome-1_6108the first book but in the second and the third books it is a major part of the plot. I am sure you all know what it is about but just in case : the country is divided into 12 districts and the main city called the Capitol, where all the rich people and the government live. Every year each district has to give a young girl and a young boy between the age of 12 and 18 for a television game called “The Hunger Games” where the 24 young people are put in an arena. They have to kill each other and the last one alive wins and gets to go home. We follow 16 year old Katniss who volunteers to save her sister whose name has been drawn.


 

1 : The Man Who Listens To Horses – Monty Roberts
8515You probably don’t know this about me but I love horse riding just as much as I love reading. My riding instructor loaned me this book a few years ago and I absolutely loved it. It is Monty Roberts’ memoir. He explains how he found a new way to communicate with horses and how he wanted to train them without traumatizing them and breaking their will the way his father and almost everyone did at the time. This book has been an inspiration to me and there is not one time when I interact with a horse that I do not think of this man and his method and just the idea behind it. The book and the movie The Horse Whisperer are based on Monty Roberts’ method.

 

 


 

So these were the books that were suggested to me and that I loved. If you have also written this T5W post feel free to leave the link in the comments I’d love to check it out!

Bye bye

One thought on “T5W: Best Suggested Books You Loved

Leave a Reply

