Fantasy · Reviews

The Invasion Of The Tearling – Erika Johansen

Hello Everyone !

As you might have guessed from the title, today I shall be reviewing The Invasion Of The Tearling by Erika Johansen. This book is the second book in the Tearling trilogy (I don’t actually know what it is called but it sounds nice). This is a Fantasy book series about a young Queen who was hidden her entire life and now that she has come of age she has to truly take her place on her throne and figure out how to be a Queen. I wouldn’t really describe these books as “classic” fantasy but they have this medieval atmosphere and a little bit of magic too. Now although it does have a medieval atmosphere the story takes place in the future in a regressed society. I did a spoiler free review on the first book if you would like to read it.

This is going to be a spoiler free review however as it is a second book in a series it might be best to have read the first book before reading this review.The Invasion of the Tearling

I gave this book 4.5/5 stars, not as much as the first book but I still really enjoyed it. It was very nice to find the same atmosphere that I loved in the first book. It really helped going into it. I love the political aspects of these books, it is not to heavy that we don’t understand what is happening but it is still the main plot. The reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is because I feel nothing really surprising happened. Everything was good but I would have loved a twist or something.

I am always very interested to see the characters’ development in book series. As there are more books, I expect the characters’ personalities to be deeper and to evolve more. I can say it loud an clear I was not disappointed! I loved Kelsey’s development, not just as a Queen but also as a young woman. I think I already said it in the first review but I think reading this book when you are around Kelsey’s age makes so much sense! I can really relate to that character. It is not easy to write the mind of someone who is not your age  but Erika Johansen is brilliant at it.
I loved how this book wasn’t all about Kelsea. We got to meet new characters and we also got points of vue from minor characters in the first book which was really great. It showed us the different levels of concern the people have depending on their place in the Kingdom.
Erika Johansen also deepened some of the characters we met in the first book, telling us more about their past which gave them even more credibility.

invasion Tearling.jpgAnd for all of you who didn’t think the world building complete in the first book or who wanted to know more about the crossing, well you should pick this book right away because we learn a lot about all of it.

Just as the first one was, this book is extremely visual and I think it will transcript amazingly into a movie. I can’t wait to see it. And I can’t wait to get my hand on the third book but it only comes out in November.

 

So that’s it I hope you enjoyed tell me what you liked most about this book in the comments !

Bye bye

 

 

One thought on “The Invasion Of The Tearling – Erika Johansen

Leave a Reply

