Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday : Biggest Book Hangovers

Hi Everyone !

Today’s T5W topic (Goodreads) is all about the biggest book hangovers. Sometimes, for various different reasons you cannot get over a book. No matter how much you try, none of the books you will try to open right after you finish this books will feel right. You just can’t move on !

It was rather difficult to find 5 books. I don’t usually have big hangovers. Most of the time I just need to discuss the topic with someone and once I have I can move on. However I experienced this hangover a few times.

(The five books are in no particular order)

  • Allegiant by Veronica Roth

    If you have read this book, you probably know the reason of my hangover. It is the third and final book in the Divergent trilogy. When I finished it I really wanted to discuss it with someone. This book is the reason I first wanted to start a blog.

 

  • The Kindness Of Strangers by Katrina Kittle

    This is an adult book about a widow who welcomes a trouble child into her home with her two sons even though she was already struggling to keep her family together. This book is the kind that stick with you even when you are not reading it. When I finished it, I needed some time to process it before I could even consider picking something else up.

  • Winter Rose by Jennifer Donnelly51z98haf-al-_uy250_

    This is the second book in a historical fiction trilogy following strong and independent women. This one was my favorite out of the two I read, I loved it, it was so exciting that I just couldn’t put it down! But when I finished it I found that I didn’t want to start the next one because I knew who the main character would be and I didn’t really like her as much as I loved the main women from the first and second book. Then I was in the mindset for historical fiction but I had grown a bit tired of that exact time period. So I found myself in a little reading slump…

  • The Boy In The Stripped Pajamas by John Boyne

    This is a heartbreaking holocaust story about friendship between a German boy and a Jewish one during WW2. I remember reading this book when I was around 13-14 and I was in a vampire period. When I finished this book, it every vampire book waiting for me on my shelves just seemed silly. It took me some time to get over this book and it is still one of my favorite book.

  • L’étrangère by Valérie Toranian

    This is a french book about the author’s grandmother’s story. She was a survivor of the Armenian genocide. Needless to say, this book gave me a lot to think about and just like with The Boy In The Stripped Pyjamas and The Kindness Of Strangers, every lighter book seemed silly after this one. And I couldn’t pick another serious book, it would have been too much!

 

So that’s it I hope you enjoyed! I certainly liked today’s topic a lot.

Bye bye

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday : Biggest Book Hangovers

Leave a Reply

