Wrap Up/TBR

March Wrap Up

Hello Everyone !

Now that April is here it is time to give you my March Wrap up. March was a nice reading month for me, I had a week break from college and I used it to dive a little more into my books. I was able to read 5 books this month which is my average number. So I am quite glad with myself!

20160228_190158
So the first book I finished this month was Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I am sure you heard about this book since almost everyone is reading it or is talking about it and with the movie coming out in June. But let me refresh your memory : This book is about this girl Louisa who lives in a small town in England. She is not super ambitious, she never really wanted to leave her little town and she is content with the way her life is without wanting to change it. When she loses her job she has to find another one because her family has some money issues and needs her income. She find this job as a care giver for a 30 year old quadriplegic man. The book is about them interacting and learning to move around each other and how they had an impact on each other’s life.
I enjoyed this book very much and gave it 4.5/5 stars. If you want to know more about my thoughts on this book I made a full spoiler free review here

20160228_190757Next to that I also read The Martian by Andy Weir. You also probably know what this is about considering the hype it got with the movie but again let me refresh your memory : We follow the Astronaut Mark Watney who was left on mars after a storm forced the rest of the crew to leave the planet when they thought he was dead. It is told through Mark’s blog entries so it is like he is telling us the story. He has to find a way to survive until another mission comes along. It is a bit scientific because he explains how he does everything but he explains it in a nice and relatively simple way so that I could understand the basic idea, but Mark is just so funny! His sarcasm makes it so much fun, it’s absolutely amazing. I listened to it as an audiobook, so most people of my town must think I am crazy laughing out loud like I did. I really recommend the audiobook, the narration was incredible and this way I didn’t focus on really understanding the scientific stuff. I gave this book 5/5 stars it is by far my favorite book I read this year! I will probably post a review later on but I don’t know when yet.

les-joyaux-de-la-sorciere-229453Then I finished Les joyaux de la sorcière by Juliette Benzoni. I talked about this book in my TBR it is the 7th book in a french series about a Venetian Prince who is an expert in jewelry. I started this book like in October or something and I was loving it until something happened that I really hated and I immediately closed it and didn’t open it again until this month. If the thing that I hated hadn’t happened I would have given it 5 stars but it annoyed me so much that I ended up giving it 3.5/ stars. If you speak french I highly recommend this series it is called Le boiteux de Varsovie and it is mostly amazing. I love Juliette Benzoni’s writing style

The next tow books are Ruby Red (Rubinrot) and Sapphire Blue (Saphirblau) by Kerstin Gier. They are the first two books in a trilogy. We follow a 16 year old girl named Gwendolyn who discovers that she inherited the time travel gene that runs in her family instead of her cousin Charlotte. I enjoy this series a lot, it is really not amazing literature but it is entertaining and it was exactly what I needed. I thought the dialogs sounded a bit fake at the beginning but then it got better. It was a very simple writing but again it was entertaining. I got attached to Gwendolyn and her friends and Gideon too (her time travel partner). I especially liked Xemerius that we meet in the second book. The language being easy was actually good for me because I read it in German and I hadn’t read anything in German for a few years so I didn’t have any trouble following. I gave Ruby Red 3/5 stars and Sapphire Blue 4/5 stars.
I will do an overall review of the three books soon.

So that’s it I hope you enjoyed! Tell me if you have read any of those and what you have read this month !

Bye bye

2 thoughts on “March Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

