Fantasy

Ruby Red-Sapphire Blue-Emerald Green by Kerstin Gier

Hello Everyone !
519dkateisl-_sx352_bo1204203200_

Last month I finally decided to pick up this trilogy when I was looking for a nice, not complicated fantasy read to help me escape my studies. Well, let me tell you it was perfect for the job! I am not sure it would really be worth it to give you three separate reviews since there is not much to discuss without going into spoilers, so I thought it would be more interesting to give you my thoughts and opinions on the entire trilogy. Spoiler free of course! gierkersti_saphirblau_9783401063478

So for those of you who don’t know the story at all, it is a German time travel series by Kerstin Gier for teenagers. Our main character, Gwendolyn Sheperd, inherited a time travel gene that runs into her family and finds herself involved a mission with her extremely arrogant time travel partner Gideon De Villier, although no one really explains her what is happening. In this book, every time covernjkthtraveler is assigned to a gem, hence the titles.

So… I didn’t expect it to be beautiful literature so I wasn’t disappointed when I saw that the writing style wasn’t extremely sophisticated. These books are just simple, funny and entertaining which is all I wanted them to be. At the beginning of the first book I thought the dialogues somehow sounded a little wrong but throughout the series it really got better and in the end it was as natural as could be and the author got better at sarcasm into the narration so that the third book ended up being really funny at times.
The fact that the writing wasn’t too sophisticated was actually a good thing because I read them in German and I haven’t been talking much in German for the last couple of years so it was perfect to help me get back into it.

I liked most of the characters, at least I liked everyone we were suppose to like. I couldn’t stand Glenda or Charlotte. My favorite character is Xemerius who is only introduced in the second book. He is so funny and amazing and I think he really brings something great to the story. Otherwise I thought Leslie was such a sweet girl and quite clever too. As for the main characters, Gwendolyn and Gideon, I had a lot of affection for both of them. There were a few times where Gwendolyn got a bit on my nerves, I just wanted to shake her up and shout “Wake up” but most of the time she was really nice to follow.

pic_1748746

The story was really addicting, I almost didn’t sleep for an entire week because I was up reading those books until 4 in the morning. Except at the beginning of the first book where the author needed to explain the way it works, there was no long moment, it was quite fast paced and I just flew through it.

There is one thing I would like to praise. I loved the idea, the concept, behind the time travel. The way it was organized was, I think, very unique, even if I haven’t read many time travel books.

836221_coc_ph_spreadshirt_banner_ohne_start

SMALL SPOILER SECTION
There is one thing that kind of bothered me. The entire trilogy is suppose take place within one/two weeks and whenever I remembered this, the romance would seem kind of weird. They had never met before but within two weeks they would literally die for each other. I know love at first sight exists but it did not feel completely realistic.
END OF SPOILER SECTION

So that was it, I really recommend this series to anyone who just wants to have a good time without having to think hard about it. Just nice, entertaining and funny! Plus there are movies that are quite good too although they do diverge a bit from the books.578313I gave Ruby Red 3/5 stars, Sapphire Blue 4/5 stars and Emerald Green 3.5/5 stars.

If you’ve read those books tell me your thoughts down below I’d love to discuss it with you!

Bye bye

 

Leave a Reply

