Contemporary

*Spoiler free* This Is Where It Ends – Marieke Nijkamp

Hi Guys !

Today I am back with another review. I will be talking about This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp.

41iu42b0bynl-_sy344_bo1204203200_This book describes a school shooting in a little town in Alabama. The book is structured in chapters that each represent a small lap of time, around 5 minutes. In each chapter we see the perspective of four students who are all somehow related to the shooter.
Obviously this book has a very violent content so beware of that before you get into it.

Before I go into my thoughts on this book I would just like to point out how well designed this cover is. I find it to be an incredibly powerful image.

Overall it was a good book on a very dark subject. I liked the way it was told through a few minutes time laps, where we got to see the four point of views of what was happening. It was good to see how each of them reacted depending on where they were.

Now on to the characters : there were some I really liked and some I felt kind of meh about. I found the shooter to be a little underdeveloped. I did not entirely understand how he got to the place he was in before starting this shooting. I don’t really believe in people being evil just like that and although bad things did happen to him, the way he changed didn’t feel logical to me. Perhaps it was the point : we don’t always understand why people do the things they do. But because it is a novel and because his past is explained I would have liked it if it had been a little more developed.
I think my favorite character is Fareed. I can’t really explain why but he just seemed like a very simple, openminded person.
I enjoyed the diversity of characters in the story. There are characters of different skin colors and Nationalities and sexual orientations without it being the center of the book. It makes the story more realistic.
In situations like this one, there are the people who turn out to be heroes and they are the others who are too scared to do anything. The second category is often more reliable. I mean we all wish we would be heroes, but the truth is until we actually live something like that we have no idea. I honestly don’t know if I would have the guts to be a hero. I would have liked to see the point of view of someone who is not a hero.

Together we could be strong, but the gun has made us individuals

The thing I probably liked the most about this book was how it included the part that social media plays in a situation like that. Between every chapter we have either a few tweets or texts or blog post from the students inside the school or some people outside who hear about it and send their prayers or have loved ones inside the school etc.

Though the writing style was not absolutely stunning, it focused on the action without giving too much description that would have felt out of place in such a story. It was simple enough to make it feel real.

I ended up giving this book a 3,5/5 stars. If you are interested I would recommend this book.

I hope you enjoyed this review and I’ll be back soon !

 

2 thoughts on “*Spoiler free* This Is Where It Ends – Marieke Nijkamp

Leave a Reply

