Wrap Up/TBR

2016 Favorites

Hello Everyone!!

I wish you all a very happy new year. I hope that you will be able to accomplish everything you set your mind to. I myself was never really one for resolutions but I would like to give this blog another try. I will do my best to post as regularly as possible although considering my history I cannot make any promises !

Today I have decided to talk to you about what I read in 2016. This posts are my favorite to read so I hope you like it too!

Favorite cover: This is where it ends

Although this book ended up disappointing me a little, I find the cover to be so compelling and just right for the story (this book is about a school shooting). I just wanted to share it with you. I have a review for this book if you want to check it out.41iu42b0bynl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Favorite Author of 2016 : Fredrik Backman

I read two of his books this year, one of them is even on my top 5 books of the year. His writing is so clear and easy to follow without being too simple. I never really know how to describe an author’s writing but his really got to me. He has a beautiful way of describing the real world. His characters always seem very much alive with complex personalities and are not just what one would expect. I am really looking forward to read his other books this year.

Favorite character : Mark Watney from the Martian by Andy Weir

THE MARTIANThis character is so incredible. He found himself in what is probably one of the worst situations imaginable and he still finds a way to be the wittiest character I have ever read. He doesn’t give up although he would definitely be entitled to and is really smart, whatever problem comes up he fixes it one way or another.

 5 Honorable Mentions:

Go Ask Alice – Milk And Honey by Rupi Kaur – Romeo And Juliet by William Shakespeare – The Martian by Andy Weir – What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler

My top 5 books:

  • The Last Time We Say Goodbye – Cynthia Hand
    This is is the story of a teenager in her last year of High School trying to get over her brother’s suicide. It was quite an emotional read as the main character wonders about the “what ifs” or about who is to blame. I did a full review if you want read more about it.
  • Illuminae by Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
    I had been hearing about this book since it came out and I thought for sure it was overhyped, there was no way it could be as amazing as everyone said it was. I also thought it would be incredibly hard to get through in this weird format and I didn’t see how the characters’ personality could be described. Well, I could not have been more wrong on any of those points! The authors did an amazing job with this book ! Somehow the format made perfect sense for this story, the characters were absolutely amazing, the story was incredible (Sci-fi isn’t usually my thing but this one was so good). There was humor, there was action, there were plot twists, everything to be just the amazing book everyone described

 

  • My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell you she’s sorry – Fredrik Backman my-grandmother-asked-me-to-tell-you-shes-sorry-9781501115073_hr
    This is the story of a girl who’s grandmother just passed away and she leaves letters for her granddaughter to deliver to various people of their entourage. It is a beautiful story about people. All sorts of people. All of the characters are so different and we can see how they were shaped by what they experienced. I couldn’t even tell you if it is a sad story or a happy one, it’s truly a story about life and sometimes life is happy and sometimes not and it is the same for that story. There were moments I was crying and other I was laughing out loud!

 

  • The Pillars of The Earth – Ken Follett
    220px-pillarsoftheearthBoy, that one was quite the ride! We follow the building of a cathedral in the 12th century and how the construction and the characters were affected by the political situation. It is an epic novel, you travel through the medieval Europe, you see how the war affects all kinds of people. You follow nice and sweet characters as well despicable ones. There is love, conflict, revanche, honestly just anything you could possibly wish for. Just beware, this is an adult novel so if you are younger than 16-17 I’d say wait a couple years so that you can really grasp everything it has to offer.

 

  • The Book Thief- Markus Zusak
    I know! It took me forever to pick this book up! But I did and Oh My God! This has to be one of the most beautiful sad story I have ever read! I don’t even want to say anything because you should really go into it blindly. All I can tell you is that it is about Liesl, a little girl in Germany during WW2 and she steals books.thebookthief_main

That’s about it for my 2016 fav’ recap, I hope you had a good reading year. Tell me in the comments a few of your favorites of the year, I am always looking for new recommendations!

Bye Bye

One thought on “2016 Favorites

Leave a Reply

